Post-Election Comments

Well, it has taken me a bit longer to get back to posting than I thought it would. Life somehow has a way of throwing, as they say, “the best laid plans of mice and men” into the garbage. That’s why it’s so important to always be flexible in your intentions, even those of us who are considered irascible, unyielding, ornery stick in the mud. LOL!

It seems that our illustrious new President is off to a very rocky start. That comes as no surprise. Just about every new president gets off on the wrong foot. That is especially true when Congress does not really support his agenda. Contrary to what some Republican leaders say, the majority of Republicans have some serious doubts about Donald Trump. The Democrats think even less of him. It is really hard to do much when people who should be supporting you – after all he IS the President – do everything in their power to cause you embarrassment and create roadblocks. I am not saying Donald Trump Is going to be a great President. Far from it. But I do think he should be given at least a few months to show us what he wants to do for this country.

As far as all this crap about the Russians interfering in our Presidential election, all I can say is, ”seriously?” Is our election process – and I am including our national information technology systems – so vulnerable that a bunch of amateur hackers can compromise it? I suppose the Russians intelligence agencies do try to get information and perhaps even gain a little influence in American politics. That being said, I am quite sure we are doing exactly the same thing to the Russians, and God knows who else. We act as if we were as sinless as an immaculate conception when in fact we are probably as dirty as anyone. Let’s quit the hypocrisy, okay?

Hypocrisy, unfortunately, seems to be the modus operandi of just about every politician I have ever encountered either in person or through the media. I don’t know if there is a causal relationship here, but it is interesting that most politicians are lawyers. Talk about a bunch of hypocrites! The legal profession – like the medical profession – once an honored profession now has become, shall we say, less than honorable. At one point in my life when I was much younger than I am today, about 60 years younger, I wanted to be a lawyer or a minister. I seriously thought about both careers, but by the time I got to high school, the space program had started and that’s what I wanted to do with my life. I am a long way away from any of those three, except for the fact that I am argumentative like lawyers, interested in metaphysical and cosmological issues like ministers, and very much interested in scientific explanations for the workings of the universe. I have also been known to go 8 Miles high! LOL!

So, let me close this little rant today with a piece of advice to all of you. Give our new President a chance. No, I did not look for him nor did I support him during the election. My choice for President was Bernie Sanders. I did not vote for Hillary Clinton either. Neither Clinton nor Trump are particularly honorable in my estimation. But, Trump was the winner of the election. He has been sworn in as our President and as good Americans we should give him the benefit of the doubt for now. This is from an immigrant strongly disagrees with Trump on immigration. I have a feeling that if he tried to do some of the more extreme measures he has proposed, the American people may actually rise up on their hind legs and very emphatically tell Trump, ”no!” I am – technically speaking – an immigrant who has a great deal of faith in the Americans, their love of liberty, justice, and equality for all, irregardless of race, ethnic city, religion, gender orientation or even social class.

Leave a Reply

