Confronting the Past Lucky 13

Today is my 68th birthday! Yes, happy birthday to me. Thank you! In honor of my birthday I have decided to go back to the Confronting The Past  series. This is a rather momentous year for me. First of all, I turned 68. Second, it has been 50 years since I graduated from high school [by the way, happy anniversary to all the members of the class of 1966 at UM HS.] Third, my wife and I will celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in a couple of months. Fourth and last, by the end of the year all my children will be 20 years old or older. In my book that makes them adults. So, assuming I live to the end of the year, I will have lived long enough to see my children grow up. Not too shabby!

 

One of the advantages of age is that you are supposedly wiser than you were when you were young. Whether that is true in my case or anyone else’s is open for debate; when I’m going to assume that I have gained some wisdom in the last 50 years. One of the responsibilities of wisdom is that you impart that wisdom to others. After all, what good is anything if you don’t share it with those you care about? So here goes.

Before I begin confronting my past, I want to let you all know that this post is a sort of experiment. As I mentioned in an earlier post, it seems that there was a problem with the last eye examination I had until this year. The old prescription never corrected for my astigmatism nor did it include a prism for my double vision. Two weeks ago I got new prescription reading glasses for my birthday [a little early I know] that seem to allow me to do certain close work that I have not been able to do in the past. That includes a limited amount of keyboard work on the computer; plus I can read what I type or dictate. Most of my writing will be done using Dragon NaturallySpeaking. I am going to use Michael’s computer for a while just to make sure that all this will work for me. If it does, I will get my old computer fixed and updated so I can not have to bother Michael when I need to use the computer. Wish me luck with this!

 

As I said above, wisdom is to be shared. So let’s share!

 

What I am about to say is rather esoteric and probably going to be a bit difficult to explain and for you to understand. Not that you are stupid, but rather this is difficult to explain. Most people, and I assume that includes all of you, see the world as some sort of object some other separate from yourself. Both science and religion preclude the fact that there is an I, an ego, that is separate from that egos environment, in other words, reality. I’m not so sure of that. For me, it is very difficult if not impossible to separate the ego from reality the individual from his environment. I believe we all create our own environment, even our own self. We are what we believe we are. Our reality is whatever we believe it to be. But that does not explain how other people see the same “reality” as I do or you do.

 

What I believe is that the reason we have at least some shared reality is because we are not distinct individuals, separate from each other. We are all linked to each other and both space and time. We are constantly tapping into this shared consciousness without even realizing we are doing it. In science, we use the term share consciousness or something like a group mind. In religion, we call it God. The Judeo-Christian-Islamic tradition says that God created man in his own image. I say man created God in his own image.

 

I think that’s enough heresy for one day. I will pick this up later and spout some more heretical wisdom that you. Bless you and keep you.

Leave a Reply

