One More Reason To Hate The Medical Profession

Those of you who know me very well, and there are a few of you, know that I have a very low opinion of the medical/health care professions. This low opinion is the result of many years of having to deal with their stupidity and ineptitude. I know at least one of you is going to be very insulted by this. All I can say is oh well! So what’s the latest reason for me to hate doctors?

 

10 years ago I had cataract surgery on both eyes. I went from being severely nearsighted to being severely farsighted. I have also had an astigmatism for a very long time. My last pair of glasses before I had my cataract surgery corrected for the astigmatism and also for the double vision I suffer from.

 

After the surgery, I had a pair of bifocals made up that were basically clear glass on the top and fairly powerful reading glasses on the bottom. Problem is, those glasses did not correct for the astigmatism or the double vision. I mentioned this to my ophthalmologist, who told me there was nothing they could do for me, that there was no way to correct for these problems. I suffered under this misinformation for the last 10 years. Because of this misinformation, I have not been able to read a book or a website, type on my own, or even read the program guide on my satellite TV channels.It turns out that there ARE corrective lenses for my problems. In fact, the glasses I had before my surgery corrected for both, as I mentioned. No wonder I’m pissed!

 

This bull manure is just the latest in a long series of episodes of stupidity, ignorance, or what ever you wish to call it by doctors who are so full of themselves and think they are infallible when in fact all they are is arrogant and conceited. Given the kind of money these people expect to get paid for their services, you would think they would make a better effort to be more attentive to the needs of their patients and not worry so much about their schedules or their wallets. Lord knows, most of them have very stuffed wallets. After all, being a doctor is very “lucrative.” That is the term that a doctor I happen to know used to explain why he took a position from which he recently retired.

 

By the way, although I tend to hate doctors, I absolutely love nurses, male or female. I owe the nurses in the emergency room and the ICU at the local hospital my life, at this point.

Leave a Reply

