Who Is Number One?

Those of you who follow my rants and raves here know that I am a big football fan, especially college football, and you are probably guessing that this post is about the National Championship game tomorrow evening between the University of Florida and the University of Oklahoma. You’re right. It is about that game but not in the sense you might think.

I could care less about who wins and ends up ranked number one. Personally,  think the whole ranking system is tainted and we need a football playoff system like the one we have for college basketball, but that discussion i for another post. What I want to talk about today is the request by am Republican member of the House of Representatives, a branch of the US Congress,to delay legislative votes set for tomorrow and Friday, so that he and his fellow Congressmen from Florida and Oklanoma can attend the game.

Personally, I find that request quite disturbing. It appears that the football games is more important to this man than the business of running this country. If I were  voter in Florida, I would ask for a recall vote to remove this idiot from office and replace himwith someone who has his priorities straight. It is no wonder that we are in the mess we are in if our Congressmen think that a football game should take precedence over their dutires as Congressmen. I he is that obsessed with football, he needs to find a job that will allow him to indulge that passion and leave governing this country to people who understand that the business of running this country, especially in a time of economic crisis, us much more important than any sporting event.

To read the news article about this lown, click here.

On a more personal note, I want to explain my extended absence. It turns out that I havebeen fighting a battle with bronchitis the last month or so. I finally broke down right before New Year’s and went to see my doctor about it. I spemt tje ;ast weel pn amtibiotics and getting lots of rest. I am feeling better and, hopefully, have finally won the battle with bronchitis.

On Monday of this week, I spent the morning in the endoscopy lab at our local hospiral having a colonoscopy. Given that I had to maintain a clear liquid diet all day Sunday into Monday, and then ease back into a solid diet, I have been somewhat drained the past couple of days. I just have not had the energy to do much of anything the past two weeks.

I will get the result of the colonoscopy tomorrow afternoon The doctor’arly comments were that things looked pretty good in general, although there was ome polyp which they removed and are doing a biopsy on it. I’m not sure if the results ill be ready by tomorrow. The impression I ogt was those results would come in the mail in a couple of weeks. We’ll see. In an case, I will keep you all informed.

Leave a Reply

