A Symbol of Hope From TIME: Obama As FDR

Yes, I know, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted here. I apologize for that; I’ve been busy working on my Roots of Christian Heresy series over on m main blog, The Threshing Floor Also things have been quite hectic at home with the holidays approaching rapidly and all kinds of activities with the kids at school and with the Boy Scouts. My daughter was selected to the northeast Arkansas All Region High School choir. My son Michael is working on his gold merit badge. M other son Ian, who is autistic, has had some issues that required my attention. And of course, my wife Elizabeth has made her usual demands on my time. I love doing this blog, but family always comes first.

Anyway, the last time we talked a little about the historical significance of the recent Federal election. For obvious reasons, the election, and by a wide margin of victory, of Barack Obama as the next President of the United States has been all over the media, whether on line or off. The latest [November 24] issue of TIME magazine is no exception. As to be expected, Obama is featured on the cover again. My copy of this issue arrived in my mail box two days ago and the cover was so terrific I decided then that I had to share it with you. For copyright reasons, which I respect, I did not want to just scan it and post it on my site. This morning was the first chance I have had to go to the TIME site and find the link. Here it is: [You’ll have to click the read more link to see it. Also scroll down past the picture for more comments.

Barack Obama as FDR
Barack Obama as FDR

I don’t know if TIME created this photo in their digital imaging lab or if Obama actually posed for it, but I would not be surprised if he did pose for it. Obama, unlike Bush, is a very bright and witty person. He is also very conscious of symbolism in politics and the symbolism in this picture is very powerful and very positive, something this country sorely needs.

Whether the economic pundits want to call a spade a spade or whether they want to put some sort of bullshit spin on it, we are in a global economic depression that rivals the Great Depression of the early 1930s. It was the leadership of Franklin Delano Roosevelt (FDR) that enabled the United states to pull itself up by the bootstraps, rebuild our economy, and establish US political and economic leadership in the world. That leadership as well as our economy have taken a real beating these past eight years.

The symbolism of portraying Obama as FDR is a message of hope and confidence. Just as FDR led us out of the Great Depression into prosperity, this picture tells us that Obama too will lead us back to economic prosperity. And just as FDR led the US out of isolationism and into a position of respect and leadership in the world, so too Obama will lead us back to that position of leadership and regain world respect for the USA.

That will not be an easy task and it will take a lot of support from the American people to accomplish. It will not be an easy task even if Obama took office tomorrow, which unfortunately he will not; we still have two months for Bush to make things even worse, God forbid! We can only hope and pray that somehow Dubya will manage to stumble through the next two months without causing a whole lot more damage to the economy or America’s global image.

The fact that it was TIME magazine, a periodical with a huge subscription base both here in the USA and worldwide, and one that was not on the Obama bandwagon during the campaign, that chose to create this symbol of hope is, well, a hopeful sign. I urge every blogger on the Internet who wants a brighter future for this country and the whole world to pick up on this symbol and use it in a positive manner. Let’s flood the Internet with this message of hope. Just as it was the Internet that made Obama’s election possible, now let’s make his message of hope and change a reality! To rewrite John Lennon’s lyrics a little: Power to the people! Power to the people online!

2 thoughts on “A Symbol of Hope From TIME: Obama As FDR”

  1. oo12oo,

    Thanks for the rave review 🙂 I’m glad you enjoted it so much.

    As for being an “admirable” person, that is subject to debate. I have done much in my life that was less than admirable. And it took me a long time to learn that nothing is more important than family. Only your family will love you no matter what and nothing in this world is more important than love, whether you are giving it or receiving it. And you cannot expect to receive unconditional love unless you give it uncondirionally.

    Again, I want to thank you for your feedback.Uope to hear from you again.

    Peace!

    John

Leave a Reply

