The Joys and Pains of Computer Shopping

The last week has been quite an experience, let me tell you. For someone who spends most of every day on the computer, having only limited computer cpabilities for a week is a nightmare. It is not an experience I want to go through again any time soon.

My original intention was to buy myslef a nice big, in terms of power, laptop – one that would be able to run all the productivity software I use as well as my favorite RPG games, World of Warcraft and Neverwinter Nights 2. I found exactly what I wanted at the local Staples and they even set it up for me as a Windows Vista computer. Iplanned on making it a double  boot system – it would boot in either Windows or Ubuntu Linux. Trouble with doing that is that all new PCs come with Windows Vista and there are some major hurdles for the average computer user in setting up a double boot system with Vista. But there is a new version of Ubuntu due out in November that will hoperfully resolve that issue

Qnyway, I bought this really awesome  HP laptop and tried it out for a few days. It handled all my games and software beautifully. There was only one problem. It uses a wide screen format and even at the smallest screen resolution, things were too hard for me to read on my gmes where Ihave no control over fonts. I beed a 1024 x 768 screen resolution to be able to read the fonrs on my games but that resolution distorts the graphics on a wide screen format. So, I kept the lap top for my daughter and bought myelf a new HPtower to run with my 19 imch flatscreen monitor.

The new tower has a triple ccore processor with 4 GIGs of RAM. Talk about speed and power! It had to be special oredered because the local Staples was out of stock amd I did not bet it till late Thursday afternoon. It has taken me since then to gt the hang of Vista enough to install the progrms I wnt correctly and transfer my files from my old computer. But all is set up enugh now to where I can get back to work on my blogs.

One of the drawbacks of being half blind ia that it takes longer to do things sometimes. This was on of those times. I think that this computer, with a little luck and a little TLC will serve my needs for quite a few years. Getting what I needed was a major pain, but it may have been worth it. Using this ccomputer for the short time I’ve had it hasbeen a real joy. Keep your fingers crossed that it continues to be such for a long time.

Leave a Reply

