I Feel Spanked

In yesterday’s issue of the New York Times, I read a column by Nicholas D. Kristoff, one of the regular columnists for the Times, that made feel like I had just bee taken to the wood shed. The column is entitled Evangelicals a Liberal Can Love and is very thought provoking.

As those of you who have read my posts here now, I often take the evangelicals/fundamentalists to task for their bigotry, hypocrisy and political conservatism. Yes, much of that criticisn is deserved by some evangelicals/fundamentalists, but as Kristoff points out in his editorial, not all of then. And I do agree with him that the evangelicals will play a decisve role in the upcoming Presidential election.

So, from here on, I will narrow the stokes of my pen a bit and focus my ire and hyperbole onto those who deserve it and try to exclude the innocent.

A cloding note about Nicholas Kristoff: After reading his most recent column, I went to the archives of his column and read a number of his earlier columns, especially the ones on sexual trafficking in developing countries. I was very much impressed with both his writing and his actions. I am adding his blog to my reading list and suggest you might want to do the same. You’ll find the link in the Blogroll section of the Web Links pages here.

Leave a Reply

