The Zeppelin Flies Again

In a recent interview in Tokyo, Jimmy Page, the brilliant lead guitarist for Led Zeppelin, the legendary British rock band, said that a world tour by the band would more than likely occur later this year or some time next year. For those of us who have been waiting nearly thirty years for the band to reunite, this is most welcome news.\r\n

Zeppelin broke up in 1980 after the death of their drummer, John Bonham, and had not done a full cobcert until December of 2007 when they did a two-hour concert in London as a tribute to the late Ahmet Ertegun, founder of Atlantic Records. John Bonham was replaced by his son Jason, who no doubt will be the drummer when Zeppelin does go on tour.

In the late 1960s and 1970s there was a rock palace in Chicago called the Kinetic Playground. No seats, you just stood through the shows. Zeppelin played there several times early in their career and I don’t think I missed a show. I fell in love with their music the first time I saw them and I am still convinced they are the greatest rock band of all time.

Here’s a picture of Zeppelin as I remember them:

To think that I might actually get to see them again after thirty years just gives me goose bumps. If they do a show anywhere within reasonable driving distance, I am going to try to get tickets. Not only am I a Zeppelin fan here in the Botscharow house, but my wife, who was a teenager during Zeppelin”s heyday, loves them as much as I do. And my sixteen-year-old daughter is a big Zeppelin fan as well. So, going to their concert will most definitely be a family affair.

Here’s a recent photo of them at the press conference announcing the reunion concert.

Nice to know that even rock gods get grey hair! LOL

If things work out where I do get to see them again after all these years, rest assured that there will be several posts here about the concernt and Zeppelin, including some waxing nostalgic on my part.

Leave a Reply

