I’m so proud of my little girl!

I’m sorry I’ve been away for awhile. There has been a lot going on in my life these past few weeks, most of it unpleasant, so I will spare you the sob story. But something really neat happened yesterday involving my fifteen-year-old daughter Heidi.

Heidi is a freshman in high school and one of her favorite subjects is art. The other is music. Heidi plans on majoring in one or the other in college.

Anyway. a select number of high school students went to a statewide art competition for high school students in Little Rock, the state capital. The students were given a slip of paper with a list of words and they were to do a composition based on three of those words.

Heidi was in the all dry media category, so she chose to use colored pencils and oil pastels. The three words she selected were window, spiral and death. They were given an hour and half to complete their artwork.

When the judging was over, Heidi had won third place in color media! Not bad for a freshman. And, Heidi just informed me that this is the first year that freshman have been allowed to enter this particular competition. I think it is safe to say that my little girl will win more medals at this competition as she completes high school!

Leave a Reply

